When it’s time to move on… (#1)

I am not talking about relationship thingy here.

Have you felt something like this in your work? You feel things are going smoothly, it’s like you are not needed anymore, or your presence is needed but minimal?

I am feeling this right now. Why you ask? Because maybe… I’m bored. Maybe, I don’t feel satisfaction on what I am doing anymore. I am a Sr. Analyst in a company, my first role is to lead/manage people & work (yeah.. so much for Sr. Analyst.) Now my role is Technical Architect for the whole factory. Exciting right? new role, new challenge. I am challenged. but the way things moving right now? I’m used to Agile, tangible things. But being a Tech Arch, there’s a lot of planning, it’s like I am lost and mostly waiting for the senior Tech Archs to give their command for me to do. By the way, I am the only girl and the youngest (by level and age) in the group. So talk about the pressure of holding up and making myself and my work at least on the level of experienced people.

No I am not giving up, I already had pep talked myself on that. I will do my best to keep up with them even if my experience is short, and will take this as a challenge to learn the role and more things. but I tell you, I am not performing my normal 150%. (yeah, the kind ofΒ throw me to the wolves and I’ll lead the pack given my level). but this role is different, but I am fighting this negative feeling.

Luckily I stumbled on these by John C. Maxwell, 4 Questions to ask before moving on? giving up? anyway, here it goes:

1. AM I CURRENTLY EXCEEDING EXPECTATIONS?

2. AM I GIVING 100% OF MY EFFORT?

3. AM I SEEING AND SEIZING GROWTH OPPORTUNITIES?

4. AM I CURRENTLY MENTORING OTHERS?

It’s only his blog, but I feel that he’s telling me something. Remember my goal to be a leader? yeah, I thought I’m getting there, but I tell you, its a looooooooong long process.

I will answer those questions on a separate post. But I’m really hoping you can share something, your experiences, etc. That would help. A LOT. πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

