The Secret Rites of Social Butterflies

by Lizabeth Zindel

When I saw this book, I became interested imagining that I will be back again on my high school days… and I am not disappointed.

dsc_0289.jpg

It is what I expect from the book but still, it took me 3 weeks to finish this. This is the kind of story that unless you are reading several pages, you will hesitate to put it aside and read it later. Anyway…

In the philosophy class of Mr. Z, when they did an experiment on the cap, my understanding and my own analogy for the experiment, is different from the authors. Or maybe we can interpret that philosophy in different ways? Don’t ask me, I really don’t know.

So back to the cap, Mr. Z cut it to pieces, but asked the class when was it not a cap anymore. You see here, when life’s problems pours on you, you should not lose yourself in the process. In the story, it is about what’s written on the wall, when was it gossip or became truth.

The story is near reality in most of the high school students, trying to fit in. Only to realize, you are your own brand, and actually doesn’t need any one to feel good about yourself. Recommended to middle schoolers.

Leave a Reply

